From Hirtshals to Kilden

“Can you write E45, Sør, Syd, Süd on a sign?” Of course I can. And of course I wanted to make it more fun than just regular black writing on white paper. IMG_1377

So this is how our sign for hitch hiking looked like. We were so lucky that a kind, german guy picked us up right by the ferry harbor and drove us all the way to the village we would stay at in Germany. We were invited to a whole-weekend-birthday party with children, dogs and friends from ages 6 to 90!

IMG_1378

There we build up a huge party tent using a gigantic hammer. I had to use both my arms to knock the spikes into the ground, and my feet to stabilize them. Heavy, but fun.

IMG_1382

The owners of this land have their own water source, and have made their own “sink” out of it. “A never ending water source.” Of course the water was cold, so when we needed to do the dished we had to warm the water in a huge kettle on an even bigger fire.

The fire was lovely, both in the daytime and nighttime. In the daytime it was used for practical stuff like boiling water, warming food, grilling a whole shoulder from a cow (!) etc. When the sun went down and the children had gone to bed we all would gather around the fire and just enjoy it. “Nature´s television,” as my darling would say.

IMG_1383

The tractor was practical for transporting wood. I was allowed to drive it after the weekend was over, which was thrilling as I have only tried driving a proper car once in my life. I also tried to chop wood with an ax, which was as well new to me. Funny, but I really enjoyed it. The feeling I got when the wood was hard and felt impossible to chop through, till then when I hit it again and again and finally heard a crack till it fell apart… Woah. Delicious. I felt like a man – the Man.

IMG_1384

They also had three little ponds like the one one this picture that was full of german fish I have not seen before. One of the guests caught a few of them which we later grilled on the fire – so tasty.

IMG_1385 IMG_1391

The owner of this dog is often working and can not take care of her, so she stays in the neighbor village of this land. She is such a lovely dog, so kind, obedient and playful.

IMG_1395

Oh, and I saw this nice snail. Unfortunately it hid in it´s shell when I took out my mobile phone after peeing beside it, so you can not see the whole of it. But it was huge and pretty cute.

Leave a comment